Mourning Victoria

“They cried and the first thing they asked me was, ‘Why was God not protecting her?’ And I didn’t know what to say.”

Those words echo in my mind and heart as I struggle to give up my hate and misguided anger to my King.

“Why was God not protecting her?”

It was a question asked by a children to their mother when they heard that one of their friends had been murdered.

It’s a question that I’ve been asking God for the last three hours.

If you haven’t heard, a 10-year-old girl was heartlessly drugged, raped, murdered, dismembered, wrapped in a blanket and then set on fire earlier this week.

Read that sentence again.

If tears are welling up in your eyes as you imagine the last desperate gasping pleas of a child calling out for those she trusted to “please, stop,” then there is still a spark of compassion in you. If you can’t cry because you are too mad, then that’s understandable too. I am fighting off urges to secretly imagine exacting justice on the mother, boyfriend, and cousin by doing to them what was done by them. That is an appealing thought to entertain because that would make me able to judge them without looking at my own heart. But, vengeance is the LORD’s and I cannot (nor do I want to) take that bitter cup into my own hands.

“The human heart is the most deceitful of all things,
and desperately wicked.
Who really knows how bad it is?”                     Jer. 17:9

I bet APD could tell you some stories about how bad the human heart is. No, I’m not just talking about this horrible sinful act, but I’m talking about the thousands of others that they have to see day in and day out. I could tell you other tear inducing, fury kindling stories that my sister has related to me from her time on the beat, but that’s not what I need to say to you right now.

Go back to that verse in Jeremiah. Read it again. The word for “desperately wicked” could also be translated as “incurable”. It’s like a doctor who, after a thorough series of tests and meetings with his staff and other professionals in the field concludes that a condition is incurable. It is not possible to be made well again.

Incurable. Desperate. Insane.

Now we’re getting closer to the heart of all of us apart from the grace of God and the power of the Holy Spirit alive in us! Can you see your heart in this verse?

We are living in a time where a man can wear a t-shirt (granted at Coachella) that says “Eat-Sleep-Rape-Repeat.” I’m not making this up. I wish I was.

I’m outraged at that shirt! That’s not okay! That guy should burn in hell!

Hold that thought for a minute. You’re forgetting the mom from New York who sold her daughter’s virginity to random men during the Super Bowl.

Did you also forget the girl who was gang raped while being snapchatted?

Should I go on?

I don’t want to go on. I was in prayer this morning thinking about writing this and I was crying out to the Lord: weeping for the sins of my people.

“Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted.” Matthew 5:4

We have been melted to our sins. We have loved the freedom to see what we want, do what we want, say what we want, wear what we want, define sex how we want, define god how we want, and we are living out the horrible consequences of our own desires.

Christian nation? How dare we drag the name of the almighty God down to associate it with the sins of this people.

So mourn for this precious little girl. But being sad without changing is exactly what the rich young ruler did. Mourn and turn back to Christ. No law, philosophy, pill, scientific study, gene splice, or moral fiber can save us. Cling to Christ. Cling to him like a man would cling to a raft in the midst of a raging storm, and yes, we are in a storm.

Only Christ will do. Only Christ.

Give your lives to Him! Plead with Him on your knees that you might cease to talk about the problems of this nation. Instead, surrender every one of your selfish hopes and dreams and beg that God would choose you to go out into this country to preach His Good News and love people the way Christ did. Nothing short of a complete Holy Spirit led, repentance filled, Word of God grounded revival will save this country. We are going the way of every great sinful society before us and the lie of freedom has led us there.

Until next time, lose your life!

“Behold, You were angry, for we sinned,
We continued in them a long time;
And shall we be saved?
For all of us have become like one who is unclean,
And all our righteous deeds are like a filthy garment;
And all of us wither like a leaf,
And our iniquities, like the wind, take us away.
There is no one who calls on Your name,
Who arouses himself to take hold of You;
For You have hidden Your face from us
And have delivered us into the power of our iniquities.” Isaiah 64:5-7

 

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

